Oh so tired 

I’ve been struggling today with what I should write about. I was writing a really happy post on Friday morning, with plans to finish it on Friday afternoon, when I was hit with a wave of all-encompassing fatigue. For most of my Swedish class on Friday I was forcing myself to keep my eyes open, and I ended up calling in sick to work. I went home and napped for most of the afternoon, and somehow still couldn’t keep my eyes open later that night. I went to bed around 9:15. 

On Saturday and Sunday I had a little more energy but was asleep by 10 both nights, after taking afternoon naps both days. I’m not sure if it’s a side effect of the medication, or a sign that my body is working overtime to kill this infection, but it’s been tough! 

Fatigue is one of the more common symptoms of Lyme, and something that I haven’t felt too much until this point. Although when I think back, I distinctly remember going to the doctor complaining of fatigue about two years ago. I remember because it is odd that i would go to the doctor for something like that. Usually I am pretty good at toughing things out until it’s a problem that I absolutely need medical intervention on, but it must have been troubling enough that I thought it warranted a doctor’s visit. I remember the doctor telling me something like it was probably stress or hormones, and she thought it would go away. A couple months after that is when I started having the bladder symptoms. I didn’t think to connect the two at the time, but it is so obvious now that these were signs of the infection taking root.

This is my call to arms for anyone who is dealing with any change in your health or well-being that is unusual or uncomfortable enough to warrant your attention – please take these things seriously and don’t rest until a doctor gets to the bottom of exactly what is going on with you! We know best what it’s like to live in our own bodies, and if something seems off, it probably is. With Lyme, and so many other things, it is much easier to take care of when it first starts than when it has had a chance to work its way into your system. 

I know sometimes it’s so hard to get real answers on a routine doctor’s visit, and that’s why I started seeing a functional medicine doctor. Functional medicine takes a more holistic look at your health (than many traditional medicine doctors who are very siloed in their thinking) and addresses root causes as opposed to symptoms. If you have been having problems getting to the bottom of a health concern, I would urge you to make an appointment with a functional medicine doctor. You can do a search of practitioners in your area here: https://www.functionalmedicine.org/practitioner_search.aspx?id=117.

Hoping that everyone has a good Monday and that I’ll wake up with more energy to get through the day tomorrow! Xoxo

One thought on “Oh so tired 

Leave a Reply

