Recipe Round-up

I want to start posting more recipes, because I am cooking ALL THE TIME now. I wrote this recipe round-up a month ago, and it’s a good start. Let me know if you have any questions on any of the recipes, I love talking about cooking! Without further ado…


I have been cooking up a storm lately. With my diet, it’s hard to eat out, and I’m not really supposed to eat anything processed or preserved either. From pancakes to hummus to bearnaise sauce to chicken fingers, we pretty much make everything from scratch now. Luckily when you do it yourself, and use good, wholesome ingredients, there is a way to make most things in a healthy way. There are so many good resources for cooking Paleo(ish) and foods that are helping to rebuild my damaged gut, and I never feel like I can’t come up with an idea for dinner. Also luckily for me, I love to cook, and it has been fun to learn SO many new recipes over the past couple months. I literally feel like I can cook anything now. Two of my favorite sources are:

The Microbiome Diet by Raphael Kellman – unfortunately you have to purchase the book to get access to the recipes. However, the book is extremely interesting and helpful if you have any GI problems, or just want to cook for a healthier lifestyle. I have used so much that I have learned in this book.

Against All Grain – A friend told me about this website and it has been super helpful with the holiday season. It seems like Danielle has a recipe for almost everything, including sugar cookies, gingersnaps, and peanut butter chocolate bars. All three of which are gluten, dairy and refined´sugar-free, and all three which I have made in the last week.

I’m also on epicurious, bbcgoodfood, realsimple.com and food.com quite a bit. Even though they are not oriented towards any particular diet, you can find a lot of stuff that already fits the rules, or can be easily modified (brown rice pasta for regular pasta, honey for sugar, etc.).

That being said, I wanted to let you in on some of my favorite things that I’ve cooked over the last couple months.

Chicken:

Baked Chicken Strips with Honey Mustard Sauce – the sauce is really great. We´ve used this recipe to make “breaded” cod too and it turned out great.

40 clove garlic chicken – Simple, naturally Paleo, and how I learned to cut up a chicken. The sauce is dynamite on rice.

Braised apple chicken – The recipe I used was from the book mentioned above, but this looks similar. You could substitute coconut flour for the flour that they use.

Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps – We substituted cabbage for lettuce, and made our own hoisin sauce to avoid preservatives. If you’re avoiding soy, it doesn’t really work, but otherwise it’s really delicious!

Beef/Pork:

Steaks with homemade bearnaise sauce – Easy and so comforting. Use the sauce on the next day’s breakfast eggs!

Crispy Pork Medallions – I use almond flour instead of panko

Bolognese Sauce – So so comforting, with brown rice pasta or spaghetti squash

Vegetarian:

Curried Coconut Soup with Chickpeas – I’ve been making this for years and the spice is perfect for the cold winter days.

Lentils and Rice – simple and nourishing

Frittata – I’ve been using a recipe from the book but this would work too. We’ve made frittatas with spinach, salmon, tomatoes… you name it you can probably throw it in.

Desserts:

No Bake Sunbutter Crunch Bars – Against All Grain– so amazing if you are addicted to the originals but want a healthier version

Paleo Sugar Cookies – perfect for Christmas

Gluten-Free Gingersnap Cookies – so yummy with tea or coffee

Healthy Flourless Apple Muffins – a muffin that is actually healthy!

Enjoy!!

 

9 thoughts on “Recipe Round-up

Leave a Reply

