Sick Day Reading

I’ve always loved to read. My mom nicknamed me Belle (from Beauty & The Beast) when I was little because I always had my nose in a book. I still read a decent amount but I have a hard time finding books to read. I’ve signed up with Goodreads.com which is supposed to provide pretty good suggestions, but I’m always too lazy to fill in all of the books I’ve read. But anyways, I asked my Facebook friends this week what I should be reading, and received quite a few answers. It was cool to see how all of my friends’ different tastes were reflected – I think there is something for everyone on this list. I added a few of my favorites too. So, in case you’re home sick like me, heading out on vacation, need a distraction from the political news, or just need a good read, here ya go! I sorted them into categories for easy browsing 🙂

Fantasy/general novels:

The Selection series – by Kiera Cass

The Outlander series

Green Eggs and Ham (appropriate for all ages!)

The Night Circus

Game of Thrones novels

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman

The Lighthouse Road

House of Leaves

Brooklyn (my choice)

Historical fiction reads:

The Nightingale

All the Light We Cannot See (read this and loved it as well)

The Immigrants –  Vilhelm Moberg (my choice)

Classics:

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

Brave New World

Deep Thoughts:

Man’s Search for Meaning – Victor Frankl (a Don Keefe recommendation as well)

Come Be My Light – Mother Teresa

Gilead – Marilynne Robinson

Crime reads:

Gone Girl

Girl on the Train

Nonfiction
For the President’s Eyes Only – Christopher Andrews

Rez Life (my choice)

Memoirs
Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

Carol Burnette’s memoirs

Bossypants – Tina Fey

Carrie Fisher’s memoirs

Americanah – not quite a memoir but it reads like one. The best book I read in 2016.

Any others that you would add to the list?? What is your favorite genre? And, the age-old debate: paper books or iPads? I can’t decide, there are so many benefits to both.


ICYMI:

Home Sweet Home

Recipe Round-Up

My Chronic Lyme Disease Journey – the best thing I’ve read on Lyme in a while

Have a great weekend!!

3 thoughts on “Sick Day Reading

  1. Abigail Ulbrich says:

    I still prefer paper books, or the kindle. The kindle is convenient for travel and one handed reading (helpful for reading while nursing), but there is something so comforting about a paper book, not to mention it’s easier on the eyes! I stare at a computer screen too much as it is, so every little break I can give my eyes is good!

    Like

    • Kirsten says:

      I’m in the same boat! The past couple years I’ve read mostly on a kindle or iPad, but my eyes are really not liking that anymore. I try to download nonfiction books on my iPad as they’re easier to search that way, but for the rest I prefer to have a real book. So nice to hear from you Abigail, hope you’re doing well!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

